Hello BCM241!

Hello BCM241, my name is Ijumaa, which means Friday in Swahili. My own media use is quite broad, and I would like to use this opportunity to convey how and why I use media. I use media in my home most of the time, I don’t typically like to engage in media use when I am out and about. I use media to create content, more often then I use it to consume. My interests take the form of filmmaking, photographing and music production. I enjoy making music videos, interviews and promotional films. I enjoy street photography and portrait photography. I have a small home studio to record music.

So, what is interesting about my media use? I would say an interesting aspect is how I use my available tools to create content that is one hundred per cent original. I learn more and more about my equipment every day, I am self-taught in every aspect of my talents. My media use is simply a medium to get my message out to the world. I use music and film to convey inner peace, healing and kindness.

I have used my media to create two albums on my own and many films from vlogs to music videos. These are my two albums, both of which I designed in Photoshop:

It should be very clear by now that my media use revolves heavily around content creation. I use media as an outlet for my creative processes, to paint a picture of my soul, my energy, my true self in the hopes that it will inspire at least one person, in the hopes that someone will find resolve in my words.

Within my photography I try to capture everyday images while attempting to expose the beauty in that present moment. Here are some examples of my social media posts:

IMG_6147IMG_7102

This story, is simply of my truth, my positive perspective on the world and my attempt to communicate it through my chosen mediums. I have learnt not to feel limited by the quality of equapment availible to me, but rather empowered by even just a phone to create a peice of artwork that has the potential to speak into somebody’s life.

In terms of ethnography, writing my personal stories in my music is theraputic as I am able to make sense of myself, as well as my experiences. I also hope that my writing is also theraputic for my veiwership. I want to make people feel less alone in their struggle.

Leave a comment